The Old Mormon Print Shop Museum

26275 Main Street
Beaver Island, MI

Mormon Print Shop
Our museum was built in 1850 by the followers of King James Jesse Strang, and used as a print shop.

Northern Michigan’s first newspaper was published in the Print Shop, as well as religious tracts and Strang’s Mormon doctrines.

Beaver Island History MuseumStrang led his people to Beaver Island, which he described as paradise, a place where they could worship free of persecution. On the Island he was crowned as King of his people. In 1856 he was mortally wounded near the water’s edge by two of his former supporters. A special room in the museum tells the story of his life and his followers.
Following Strang’s death, the Mormons were expelled from the island by a resentful mob which came across the lake to reclaim power over this strategic port, ending a brief yet dramatic era.

The Print Shop is now the general museum for the Beaver Island Historical Society. Besides displaying the story of Strang and his times, it tells the story of the Native American inhabitants, early Irish life, the Island’s musicians, and Feodor Protar, the Island’s most cherished man. The museum also has a collection of oral histories, diaries, genealogical records, land records, and archival photos.

Collections & Exhibitions

Expand to view pictures and descriptions by category

Come in and explore the rich history of Beaver Island!

The island through the ages

THE MORMON PRINT SHOP MUSEUM

FROM MAKING HISTORY TO SHOWCASING IT

Our museum was built in 1850 by the followers of King James Jesse Strang, and used as a print shop.

Northern Michigan’s first newspaper was published in the Print Shop, as well as religious tracts and Strang’s Mormon doctrines.

Strang led his people to Beaver Island, which he described as paradise, a place where they could worship free of persecution. On the Island he was crowned as King of his people. In 1856 he was mortally wounded near the water’s edge by two of his former supporters. A special room in the museum tells the story of his life and his followers.
Following Strang’s death, the Mormons were expelled from the island by a resentful mob which came across the lake to reclaim power over this strategic port, ending a brief yet dramatic era.

The Print Shop is now the general museum for the Beaver Island Historical Society. Besides displaying the story of Strang and his times, it tells the story of the Native American inhabitants, early Irish life, the Island’s musicians, and Feodor Protar, the Island’s most cherished man. The museum also has a collection of oral histories, diaries, genealogical records, land records, and archival photos.

Collections and Exhibits

SHIPWRECKS

The Life Boat from the Carl D. Bradley
A forge recovered from the Shipwreck Niko
A Chadburn on display in the Marine Museum. A Chadburn, also know as an Engine Order Telegraph was used by the ship pilot on the bridge to signal the engineers below deck to move the ship handles to move to the same position.

COMMERCIAL FISHING

Zoltan Sepeshy (1898-1953) second director of the Cranbrook Art Academy originally painted the mural in the 1930’s for the Lincoln Park Post Office near Detroit. The thirteen-foot long, egg tempura mural, Hauling in the Nets, depicts three brawny fishermen as they struggle to lift a net-load of whitefish into their small open
Commercial Fishing Half models on display. The half hulls were constructed by ship builders and were exact scale replicas of the actual ship's hull
The Bob S. is a 50 ft. x 13 ft. fish tug, built by Peterson Boat Works in 1935. Visitors can walk on board and see what the inside of a Gill Net Boat looks like.
unnamed (2)

GILL NET BOAT RESTORATION PROJECT

The Society has restored a wooden gill-net boat which fished northern waters since 1935. Visitors can go on board to get a sense of what this way of life was like.

Plan your visit

38105 Michigan Avenue
Beaver Island, MI 49782

Hours:

Phone: